TattooCert

BBP rules by state and county

Health departments, not OSHA, decide which bloodborne pathogens certificates count for a tattoo or piercing license. Some take any course written to 29 CFR 1910.1030. Others keep an approved-provider list, set an hour minimum or run their own class.

Each row quotes the agency's published rule and links to it. Checked October 2026. A place not listed here hasn't been reviewed yet.

State or countyType of ruleWhat the rule saysRenewalSource
El Paso County, ColoradoCourse written to 1910.1030An "OSHA-approved" BBP course (the county's wording), plus an 80% exam on county regulations and first aid.Every 2 yearsAgency page
OregonCourse written to 1910.1030Training compliant with 29 CFR 1910.1030; hands-on, online or blended. The board's page says "approved provider" without naming one.Current at each license renewalAgency page
Southern Nevada (Las Vegas)Course written to 1910.1030Proof of BBP training within the last year before the Body Art Card exam, from the Red Cross or an "OSHA approved" program (the district's wording).Within the past year at each cardAgency page
WashingtonCourse written to 1910.1030A "current and active bloodborne pathogens certificate." Online accepted.License renews yearly; certificate must be currentAgency page
TexasNo course mandatedArtists must have education, training and experience in aseptic technique and BBP prevention. No specific course is required.Not specifiedAgency page
IndianaProvider rule: checkTraining that meets 29 CFR 1910.1030, provided by the operator or a health care agency continuing-education program.Per OSHA (yearly)Agency page
California (Safe Body Art Act)Approved list onlyAt least 2 hours of body-art exposure control training from a county-approved provider. TattooCert is not on county lists.YearlyAgency page
FloridaApproved list onlyA Department of Health-approved BBP and communicable disease course with an exam (70% to pass). TattooCert is not on the DOH list.Initial license onlyAgency page
OklahomaApproved list onlyAnnual training from a "nationally accredited program," with copies kept at the shop. TattooCert is not accredited by a national body.YearlyAgency page
PhiladelphiaApproved list onlyA BBP course from the city's approved-provider list. TattooCert is not on the list.Not statedAgency page
South CarolinaApproved list onlyAn approved course in BBP and tattoo infection control, plus first aid and CPR. TattooCert is not on the list.YearlyAgency page
MinnesotaHour minimumAt least 5 hours covering BBP, infection control and aseptic technique. This course is about an hour.Within the year before each applicationAgency page
New York CityAgency's own courseThe Health Department's own 3-hour Infection Control Course with a written exam ($26).For each licenseAgency page

Where the rules say “OSHA approved”

Some agencies use the phrase “OSHA approved” or “OSHA-approved.” OSHA does not approve training courses. In practice the agency decides what it accepts. More on that.

OSHA itself

The OSHA standard covers employers and their employees. It requires training at initial assignment and within one year of the previous training, under 29 CFR 1910.1030(g)(2). Self-employed artists with no employees fall outside OSHA's coverage. State and county license rules still apply to them.

Tattoo BBP Requirements by State and County | TattooCert